Faculty Staff


pdf 2017 Call for Nominations 

pdf Important Dates for Grad Awards Nominations

pdf Google Nomination Form

The Graduate School accepts nominations for graduate and faculty/staff awards year round. The 2017 deadline is Monday, February 27, at 5:00 pm.

For each nomination package, the nominator must complete a Google form and submit all supporting documentation electronically, in PDF format, to Gradfinance@stonybrook.edu. If the student nomination cannot be submitted directly by the Graduate Program Director, then the GPD must be cc’d on the submission. Nomination of faculty or staff for the Dean’s Awards can be submitted by other faculty, staff, current graduate students, or graduate alumni.

If you have questions or concerns regarding the nomination and submission process, please contact Susanne Stahl at 2-7046.

The full list of available awards is as follows:

Graduate Student Awards

Faculty/Staff Awards


2017 Graduate Award Winners

President's Award to Distinguished Doctoral Students

Francisco Delgado, English
Han Fang, Applied Mathematics & Statistics
Daphne Meza, Biomedical Engineering
Saul Siller, Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology
Laurel Yohe, Ecology & Evolution

The winners of the President's Award to Distinguished Doctoral Students will present a synopsis of their research (geared to a non-specialist audience) at a symposium held in conjunction with the Graduate Awards Ceremony. One of these winners will be asked to give a commencement speech at the Doctoral Hooding Ceremony.

President's Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Graduate Student

Taylor Ackley, Music
Audrey Ellis, Philosophy
Laura James, English
Chatham Lovette, Philosophy
Jennifer Nicoloro SantaBarbara, Psychology
Lisa Robison, Psychology

The winners of the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching will be invited to participate in the August 2017 Workshop for New Teaching Assistants, presented each year to new doctoral students during graduate orientation events.

Mildred and Herbert Weisinger Dissertation Fellowship

Suzan Walters, Sociology

Madeline Fusco Fellowship Award

Paola Cepeda, Linguistics

Faculty-Staff Dissertation Fellowship Award

David Yee, History

John Marburger III Fellowship for Science, Engineering and Mathematics

Shikha Singh, Computer Science

Joyce Turner Dissertation Fellowship Award

Vanessa Lynn, Sociology

Dean's Alumni Association Leadership Award

Vahideh Rasekhi, Linguistics

Dean's Award for Excellence in Graduate Mentoring by a faculty member 

Adrienne Munich, English

Dean's Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching by a faculty member

David Talmage, Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology

Dean's Award for Excellence in Service to Graduate Education by a Graduate Program Coordinator

Melissa Cohen, Ecology & Evolution